After 21 editions, more than 5000 visitors in Germany, India, Taiwan, Canada, Sweden, Korea, Cambodia, Romania, Bosnia… the Museum (of theatre), a participative theatrical and photographic device, returns to Sri Lanka after a first experience carried out in the heart of the explosive current events in the island, last summer. This second event will take place this time in the Tamil part of the country in the north.

The war that officially opposed the government dominated by the Buddhist Sinhalese majority and the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LLTE) from 1983 to 2009 is still close and the after-effects are perceptible. It is in this particularly sensitive political context that the installation will open its doors for the 22nd time, inviting visitors to bear witness in a social and poetic self-portrait.
Heiner Müller’s Hamlet-machine, on which the project is based, will be performed by last year’s performers and a new Tamil team in the country’s two languages. The creation, co-directed by Clyde Chabot and local artists, is intended to symbolise the concrete possibility of living together in respect of both cultures.

This project, inspired by Heiner Müller’s Hamlet-Machine, has been reactivated since 2003 on different continents. In Asia, America and Europe, it is at one with the country’s history and political current events, and its divisions. It allows the inhabitants to write their own history, to bear witness as citizens, to be part of the movement of the world instead of being only disillusioned viewers behind a screen.

This project is supported by the German Society for International Cooperation (GIZ), the Goethe Institute of Sri Lanka, Kalam, the French Embassy, the Spring Festival, the University of Peradeniya and Fundraising Conseil


Text: Hamlet-machine
Author: Heiner Müller
Translation: Navadharshani Karunaharan (Tamil) – Ashani Ranasinghe and Asoka de Zoysa (Sinhala)

Concept: Clyde Chabot
Co-Artistic Directors: Priyantha Fonseka, Rathitharan Kathiresu, Chamila Priyanka,
Scenography conception: Annabel Vergne
Scenography adaptation: Caroline Frachet

The Communauté Inavouable warmly thanks the photographers Palitha Handunge, Chamara Piyasena, MA Pushpakumara, Amitha Thennakoon, Tharmapalan Tilaxan, Ruvin de Silva, Jacques Soulié and Marco Valle who agreed to have their photos used in the installation.


The participatory installation was followed by a theatrical, musical and choreographic performance based on extracts from Heiner Muller’s Hamlet-Machine. The team was made up of 16 people: Tamil artists from Jaffna and artists and students from the University of Peradeniya in Kandy who took part in the project last year.

Along with the French and German teams, the Tamil and Sinhalese artists, co-directed by Clyde Chabot, Rathitharan Kathiresu and Chamila Priyanka, were brought together to create a show in both languages, respectful of the two cultures, of the disappeared, of the wounds, and to try to move the borders concretely and symbolically.

The show was performed 4 times, attracting almost 350 visitors.

We would like to thank all our partners and supporters who made this project possible: GIZ Sri Lanka, SCOPE, Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka, Kaläm, the French Embassy in Sri Lanka and the Maldives, the University of Peradeniya in Kandy, the Ile-de-France Region.


Conception : Clyde Chabot, Chamila Priyanka, Rathitharan Kathiresu, Priyantha Fonseka

Drama/Dance/Music Performers : Nicholas Kirutharshan, Hasanthi Niriella, Jeyaseelen Mary Mathusha, Kowthami Yogarajah, Thangathurai Kuvenitha, Selvaraj Rajeew, Vidura Gunawardhana, Loginy Karunakaran, Kanchana kumara keerthirathna, James Kapildanpaul, Rathitharan Kathiresu, Dinuki Panditharatne, Tharmalingam Kajan, Nimthara Jayasooriya, Sebastiampillai Vasanberk.
Production : Clotilde Allard, Nicholas Kirutharshan, Dinuki Panditharatne, Julie Ramambason, Stefan Winkler
Technicians : S. Vijayakumar, S. Ragaventhan, V. Nishanth, Images : Roland Raymond